AAG Awards and Deadlines

Please take note of the following AAG awards and see if you know someone– perhaps yourself?– who might be deserving of such an award. The links haven’t translated properly, but you can go to the AAG website to look up the award. You’ll find additional awards and grants on that page as well. If you have further questions, you can contact Patricia Solis, atpsolis@aag.org.

September 15, 2013 – AAG Enhancing Diversity Award

The AAG Enhancing Diversity Award honors those geographers who have pioneered efforts toward or actively participated in efforts toward encouraging a more diverse discipline over the course of several years.

September 15, 2013 – Honorary Geographer

Every year the AAG designates an individual as that year’s AAG Honorary Geographer as a way of recognizing excellence in research, teaching, or writing on geographic topics by non-geographers.

September 20, 2013 – AAG Brunn Creativity Award

The AAG Stanley Brunn Award for Creativity in Geography is given annually to an individual geographer or team that has demonstrated originality, creativity, and significant intellectual breakthroughs in geography.

October 10, 2013 – Nystrom Award

The J. Warren Nystrom Award, established by former AAG Executive Director J. Warren Nystrom, supports an annual prize for a paper based upon a recent dissertation in geography.

October 15, 2013 – AAG Rose Anti-Racism Award

The Harold M. Rose Award for Anti-Racism Research and Practice honors geographers who have a demonstrated record of the type of research and active contributions to society that have marked Harold Rose’s career. The award will be given to those who have served to advance the discipline through their research, and who have also had an impact on anti-racist practice.

December 31, 2013 – AAG Glenda Laws Award 

The Glenda Laws Award recognizes outstanding contributions to geographic research on social issues. This award is named in memory of Glenda Laws-a geographer who brought energy and enthusiasm to her work on issues of social justice and social policy. Early to mid-career scholars involved in geographic research on one or more social issues are eligible for this award. (This is distinct from GPOW’s Glenda Laws Dissertation Award).

Leave a Reply